

Honoring Dr. Eleanor Garrett

It is a deep sorrow to announce the passing of Dr. Eleanor Garrett. Dr. Garrett was a beloved educator, entreprenuer and mother. She graduated with both her bachelor's, master's and honorary doctorate degree from Sam Houston. Dr. Garrett and her husband, Charles, established world-renouned brand Garrett Electronics in 1964. In 2010, Eleanor And Charles Garrett Teacher Education Center was dedicated in their honor. In 2017, the Eleanor and Charles Garrett Center on Transition and Disability Studies was established. Dr. Eleanor Garrett's impact on the College of Education continues to make a difference in the lives of students, faculty, staff, and friends of the College of Education.

Read the obituary

Distinguished Educator of the Year



The COE honors educators and friends of education who have made a significant contribution to the field of education as Distinguished Educator of the Year. All of the winners are alumni of the COE. The award ceremony was held March 5, 2022 in the LSC White Ballroom to recognize 2021 and 2022 honorees.

View photos of the event

Meet the honorees

Photo: (back row left to right) Rhonda Mason, Provost Michael Stephenson, Dean Stacey Edmonson, Amy Schindewolf, Leslie Gerberman, Kendra Wuest, Dominique Odom, Kelsey Amaya (front row left to right) Mel Basham, Patricia Nash, Clare Resilla, Alton Smith



GRACE DAY

The College of Education Grant Research team invites you to GRACE Day on **Thursday, March 10**. GRACE Day is an opportunity for COE faculty to support each other and share information about the grant projects that were awarded to them or that were submitted. The goal is to learn from and support others during the annual GRACE Day Expo. <u>View the Program</u>

Undergrad Professional Development

The **Sam Houston Council for Exceptional Children** (SHCEC) is hosting free professional development for students on **Saturday, March 26 from 11:00 am - 12:00 pm.** Learn about your field experience options from guest speaker **Dr. Jannah Nerren.**

View the informational flyer

Questions? Contact SHCEC2021@shsu.edu

GenCyber Grant

SOTL professor Casey Creghan and four colleagues in the Department of Computer Science were awarded a **\$91,392 GenCyber grant from the National Security Agency.** One of the grant goals is facilitating teacher readiness within a teacher learning community to learn, develop, and deliver cybersecurity content for the K-12 classroom in collaboration with other nationwide initiatives. Congratulations, Dr. Creghan!

Read more about the GenCyberGrant

Dissertation Announcements

Candace Pohl has announced her dissertation final defense titled, *At-Rist High School Graduates and their Post Graduation Experiences: A Phenomenological Study.* The defense will be held on March 11, 2022 at 2:00 pm. The dissertation committee includes Dr. Peggy Holzweiss, Dr. Julie Combs and Dr. Susan Borg.

Erin Gordon has announced her dissertation proposal defense titled, *Self-Regulation and Motivation in the Context of Academic Probation: A Phenomenological Study.* The defense will be held on March 25, 2022 at 10:00 am. The dissertation committee includes Dr. Nara Martirosyan, Dr. Patrick Saxon and Dr. Susan Troncoso Skidmore.

Fenecia Foster has announced her dissertation final defense titled, *Nontraditional Student Perceptions Regarding the Impact of Noncognitive Characteristics of the Developmental Mathematics Learning Experience.* The defense will be held on March 11, 2022 at 10:00 am. The dissertation committee includes Dr. Nara Martirosyan, Dr. Patrick Saxon and Dr. Susan Troncoso Skidmore.

Deirdre Holloway has announced their dissertation final defense titled, *School improvement Strategies for School Principals Closing the Achievement Gap.* The defense will be held on March 23, 2022 at 3:00 pm. The dissertation committee includes Dr. Cynthia Mattinez-Garcia, Dr. John Slate and Dr. Lautrice Nickson.

Dsuanka Armstrong has announced their dissertation proposal defense titled, *Professional Counselors and Case Management.* The defense will be held on March 28, 2022 at 11:00 am. The dissertation committee includes Dr. Richard Henriksen, Dr. Chi-Sing Li and Dr. Sinem Akay-Sullivan.

Announcement Details



To be included in the next N3 share your announcements and story ideas with <u>Shelie Goodwin</u> by noon on Monday.

This email was sent to faculty, staff, students and friends of the College of Education

MEMBER THE TEXAS STATE UNIVERSITY SYSTEM

Subscribe to our email list.