

# People of the COE



# Farewell, Dr. Nerren!

We celebrated Dr. Jannah Nerren's time and dedication to the College of Education at her farewell party! Dr. Nerren served as Associate Dean for over 5 years. We'll miss her and wish her the best on her next venture! <u>See party pictures</u>

# Day on the Hill

In June, the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE) hosted this year's Washington Week conference, which included three events: State Leaders Institute, Policy Institute and Day on the Hill. COE students and faculty members participated in sessions focusing on leadership capacity building, writing for the political arena, and organizing effective in-person advocacy campaigns. Students had the opportunity to meet with several state representatives during Day on the Hill to advocate for support for teacher preparation programs, teacher retention, bilingual programs, increased diversity among educators, and financial support for teacher candidates as they complete their degrees.

Attendees and advocates included students at the undergraduate, graduate, and doctoral levels: Anthony Anderson, Lea Moore, Laderrington Baldwin, Tiffany Mayes,



Mariana Herrera, Ryan Winkler. Faculty members included Drs. Strunc, Berg, and Haas.

#### See pictures



#### **Scholarship Recipient**

Summer Sullivan (pictured left) received a scholarship from the Houston Counseling Association for outstanding academic achievement.

Congratulations, Summer!

### **Charles Butt Scholars**

Several of our Charles Butt Scholars attended the Charles Butt Scholar Symposium to connect and learn with each other and other scholars.

#### See pictures





#### Dr. Salim Sehlaoui

SOTL professor Dr. Salim Sehlaoui was accepted as a participant in the inaugural ATE Inquiry Initiative. The Inquiry Initiative is a first-ofits-kind collaborative inquiry for professional educators from multiple settings, experience and demographics.

### Dr. Corrina Cole

Dr. Corrina Cole is president-elect for the Council for Educational Diagnostic Services! Dr. Cole is the Coordinator of Graduate Certificate in Bilingual (Spanish) Educational Diagnostician. Congratulations, Dr. Cole!





#### Shawnna Sandles

Shawnna Sandles, Academic Coach with TRiO Teacher Support Services, has been selected to participate in the Emerging Leaders Institute with the Texas TRiO Association! The Emerging Leaders Institute provides a means for Texas TRiO professionals to gain valuable knowledge, training, and professional development in the area of leadership, as well as creates opportunities to develop the skills necessary to assist in the operation of TRiO.

# Libraries Change Communities

Bearkat Librarian Jennifer Bacall ('11) accepted the Texas Library Association Libraries Change Communities Award for Harris County Public Library! The award recognizes the public library's Growing Readers project. <u>Read the blog post</u>





# Librarian of the Year

Bearkat Librarian and doctoral student Karina Quilantan-Garza received the 2022 Librarian of the Year Award from the Texas Library Association. This award recognizes a librarian who has demonstrated extraordinary leadership and service within the library community. Congratulations, Karina! <u>Read the article</u>

# Leaders in Research

The Center for Community Engagement (CCE) at SHSU was recognized as a national leader in community engaged research, civic engagement and academic community engagement! SOTL Professor Joyce McCauley serves as the Executive Director for the Center. Congratulations to the CCE team! <u>Read the article</u>





# **Magazine Feature**

Dr. Rose Brock's book, Hope Wins, was featured in the June issue of Story Monsters Ink! Hope Wins is a

compilation of personal stories and essays from 22 award-winning authors.

Watch a video about what hope means to authors Get the book

# **TEA Recognition**

TEA recognized the US Prep Learning Tour hosted by the COE last spring. The spotlight recognized the yearlong residency program and the partnership with school districts. TEA wrote "...We were inspired to see how this program is investing in their community partners and strengthening those ties to impact achievement for both candidates and students!"

# **Dissertation Announcements**

**Abigail Winard's** Dissertation Proposal Defense, "Photovoice 2.0: A Research Framework for the Digital Generation," has been scheduled for July 21, 2022 at 11:00 AM. at the main campus TEC Room 218. The dissertation committee consists of: Dr. Lory Haas, Dr. Robert Maninger, Dr. Melinda Miller and Dr. Debra Price.

**Luvia Rivera Valles's** Dissertation Proposal Defense, "Latino Males Sense of Belonging Experiences in a Community College Developmental Mathematics Classroom," has been scheduled VIA Zoom for July 8,2022 at 11AM. You can access the meeting by using the Zoom ID: 873 1420 6288 or at <u>https://shsu.zoom.us/j/87314206288</u>. The dissertation committee consists of: Dr. Nara Martirosyan, Dr. Debra Price and Dr. Gabriela Silvestre.

**Stephanie Argueta's** Dissertation Proposal Defense, "Differences in the Mathematics Achievement of Texas Grade 3 Emergent Bilingual Students as a Function of their Economic Status, Ethnicity/Race, and Gender: A Multiyear Statewide Study," has been scheduled for July 14, 2022 at 3:00 PM, TWC RM 230. The dissertation committee consists of: Dr. Cynthia Martinez-Garcia, Dr. John Slate and Dr. Janene Hemmen.

**Laura Cardiel's** Dissertation Proposal Defense, "Examining the Potential Influence of Membership an a Latin-Based Greek-Lettered Organization on Latinx College Students' Sense of Familismo at a 4-Year, Public Hispanic-Serving Institution in the Southwest," has been scheduled for July 22, 2022 at 10:00 AM at TWC Room 230. The dissertation committee consists of: Dr. Ricardo Montelongo, Dr. Paul Eaton, Dr. Peggy Holzweiss and Dr. Gabriela Silvestre.

**Sehrish Ali's** Dissertation Proposal Defense, "A Qualitative Exploration of Licensed Professional Counselors' Therapeutic Relationships Working With Clients With Body Image Concerns," has been scheduled VIA Zoom for July 12,2022 at 11:00 AM. You can access the meeting by using the Zoom ID: 878 0205 7665 or at <a href="https://shsu.zoom.us/j/87802057665">https://shsu.zoom.us/j/87802057665</a>. The dissertation committee consists of: Dr. Jeffrey Sullivan, Dr. Timothy Brown and Dr. DeeAnna Green.

Announcement Details



To be included in the August N3 share your news with the <u>COE Communcations Hub</u> by noon on Monday, August 1.

This email was sent to faculty, staff and friends of the College of Education

MEMBER THE TEXAS STATE UNIVERSITY SYSTEM

Subscribe to our email list.