

People of the COE

Learning by Scientic Design



Drs. Susan Harte, Kristi Martin, Andrea Foster, Abbie Strunc and Daphne Johnson visited the University of Missouri, St. Louis for a Learning by Scientific Design Network Convening sponsored by Dean's for Impact. The professors collaborated with colleagues to improve teacher candidate learning and program alignment around learning science principles.

Teacher of the Year

Bearkat Librarian **Courtney Walker** was honored as Plano ISD's Teacher of the Year! Walker is the librarian at Skaggs Elementary.

Awards

Congratulations to **Dr. Benita Brooks** who received the Sam Houston State University David Payne Award for Academic Community Engagement. This award is a testament to dedication to community engagement and the importance of teaching our students the value of community.

Dr. Gabriela Silvestre was selected to participate in the 2022-2023 High Potential Employee Leadership Academy. Dr. Silvestre will collaborate with leaders from the Texas Department of Criminal Justice and the City of Huntsville. Congratulations!



Art Showcase

K-12 students from surrounding school districts showed their creativity in our **Art in Education** event! This year's theme was "Kindness Matters." <u>View the Artwork</u>

Book Publications

Dr. Rose Brock's new book, *Hope Wins: Inspiring Stories for Young Readers,* is now available! is a compilation of personal stories and essays from 22 award-winning authors.

Read the Publisher's Weekly Interview

Watch a video about what hope means to authors

Buy the book

Dr. Teri Lesesne's *The Joy of Reading, was* recently published and listed as a recommended read for educators by the Texas Computer Education Association! The book provides practices to make reading a joyful experience for people of all ages. Through the book, Dr. Lesesne's passion for sharing the joy reading lives on.

View the list

Buy the book

COE Faculty Professional Development

Share your input with the COE Grant Research Liaison Committee on Professional Development Activities for COE faculty. <u>Take the 2 minute survey</u>

COE Staff Excellence Award

The COE is seeking Staff Excellence Award nominations. This award will recognize one staff member's positive attitude, work performance and spirit from the previous academic year. The award will be

presented at the faculty/staff fall kick off meeting in August. Nominate a staff member by June 30.

Dissertation Announcements

Matthew Griffin's Dissertation Proposal Defense, "Differences in Exclusionary Discipline Consequences for Grades 4 and 5 Girls: A Texas Multiyear Statewide Investigation," has been scheduled for June 22, 2022, at 2 PM, TWC RM 111. The Dissertation Committee consists of: Dr. John Slate, Dr. Fred Lunenburg and Dr. Janene Hemmen.

Alisha Martin's Dissertation Proposal Defense, "Differences in the Writing Performance of Texas Elementary School Students as a Function of Their Economic Status, Gender, and Language Status: A Multiyear Statewide Investigation," has been scheduled for June 22, 2022 at 3:15 PM, TWC RM 111. Dissertation committee consists of: Dr. John Slate, Dr. Fred Lunenburg and Dr. Janene Hemmen.

Daniele Jordan's Dissertation Proposal Defense, "Dropout Rate Differences in Texas Alternative Education Campuses of Choice: A Statewide Analysis," has been scheduled for June 23, 2022 at 2:00 PM, TWC RM 111. Dissertation committee consists of: Dr. Fred Lunenburg, Dr. John Slate and Dr. Janene Hemmen.

Oleavia Morris's Dissertation Proposal Defense, "Differences in Disciplinary Problems and Actions, School Characteristics, and Average Daily Attendance of Public Schools by Social Emotional Learning Practices," has been scheduled for June 23, 2022 at 3:15 PM, TWC RM 111. Dissertation committee consists of: Dr. Fred Lunenburg, Dr. John Slate and Dr. Janene Hemmen.

Margo Kelley's Dissertation Proposal Defense, "Inequities in the Number of Days Assigned to Girls to an Exclusionary Discipline Consequence as a Function of Ethnicity/Race, Economic Status, and At Risk Status of Texas Middle School Girls: A Multiyear, Statewide Investigation," has been scheduled for June 21, 2022 at 1:00 PM, TWC RM 111. Dissertation committee consists of: Dr. John Slate, Dr. Fred Lunenburg and Dr. Janene Hemmen.

Shawna Taylor's Dissertation Proposal Defense, "English Language Learners Who Beat the Odds: A Study of Factors Related to Academically Successful High School Students Classified as ELLs," has been scheduled via Zoom for July 21, 2022 at 11:00 AM. You can access the meeting by using the Zoom ID: 882 0514 3712 or at https://shsu.zoom.us/j/88205143712. Dissertation committee consists of: Dr. Debra Price, Dr. Chase Young, Dr. Burcu Ates and Dr. Barbuhan Uzum.

Ronda McClain's Dissertation Final Defense, "The Effects of Intentional Pairing of Teacher Candidates and Cooperating Teachers in Early Field Experiences," has been scheduled for June 27, 2022 at 10:00 am at the main campus TEC RM 279. Dissertation committee consists of: Dr. Debra Price, Dr. Lory Haas, Dr. Melinda Miller and Dr. Stacy Hendricks.

Kayla Harding's Dissertation Final Defense, "Adult Learners' Experiences of Stigma in Developmental Reading Courses," has been scheduled via Zoom for June 28, 2022 at 9:00 AM, Zoom ID: 818 4021 6239 or at <u>https://shsu.zoom.us/j/81840216239</u>. Dissertation committee consists of: Dr. Forrest Lane, Dr. Patrick Saxon and Dr. Ricardo Montelongo.

Announcement Details



To be included in the next N3 share your announcements and story ideas with the $\underline{\text{COE}}$ by noon on Monday.

This email was sent to faculty, staff and friends of the College of Education

MEMBER THE TEXAS STATE UNIVERSITY SYSTEM

