FACULTY SENATE MINUTES SAM HOUSTON STATE UNIVERSITY SEPTEMBER 2, 2004

Members Present: David Bailey, Christopher Baldwin, Jim Carter, Mary Lynn DeShazo, Stacey Edmondson, Mark Frank, Mary Gutermuth, Marsha Harman, Penny Hasekoester Deborah Hatton, David Henderson, Lady Jane Hickey, Joe Kirk, Gerald Kohers, Thomas Kordinak, Paul Loeffler, Holly Miller, Valerie Muehsam, Debra Price, Gary Smith, Kandi Tayebi, Tamara Waggener Christopher White, Patricia Williams, Bill Lutterschmidt, Jim Deshaw, Joan Hudson, Philip Morris, Peggy Demers

Members Absent: Steven Cuvelier (professional conflict)

The Faculty Senate was convened at 3:30 p.m. on September 2, 2004 by **Faculty Senate Chair Kandi Tayebi**.

Approval of Minutes:

Emendations for the minutes of May 13, 2004 were approved.

Committee Reports:

Committee on Committees: **Senator Kohers** presented pending nominations for representatives of the Adjunct Faculty to serve on the Faculty Women's Advisory Committee.

The nominations were approved by the Faculty Senate.

Introduction of New Faculty Members:

President Gaertner, Provost Payne, Associate Vice President Eglsaer, Associate Vice President Muehsam, Dean Ward, Dean Brown, Dean Chapman, Dean Lewis, Dean Thibodeaux, Associate Dean Bruce and Associate Dean Tayebi joined the Faculty Senate in welcoming new faculty members to SHSU and in celebrating the recipients of the Faculty Senate Leadership Awards, the work of retiring Senators, and the service of Kandi Tayebi.

First Annual Faculty Senate Leadership Awards:

Chair Kandi Tayebi announced and presented awards to two administrators who successfully share an open, respectful, and honest relationship with faculty while effectively accomplishing the academic mission of SHSU.

The Faculty Senate Academic leadership Awards were presented to:

Dr. Bob Biles, Department Chair for Political Science

Dean Genevieve Brown, College of Education

Honoring Retiring Senators, Welcoming New Senators:

President Gaertner presented certificates of appreciation to retiring Senators and new Senators took their seats.

Outgoing Senators	Incoming Senators	
Terry Bilhartz	Peggy DeMers	
Mary Lynn DeShazo	James DeShaw	
Stacey Edmondson	Stacey Edmondson (re-elected)	
Penny Hasekoester	Joan Hudson	
Gerald Kohers	Gerald Kohers (re-elected)	
Paul Loeffler	Paul Loeffler (re-elected)	
Kandi Tayebi	Bill Lutterschmidt	
Tamara Waggener	Philip Morris	

New Chair-Elect Dr. Jim Carter

Senators for each college are as follows:

COAS	COBA	COE
Christopher Baldwin	Mark Frank	Stacey Edmondson
Peggy DeMers	Gerald Kohers	David Henderson
James DeShaw	Philip Morris	Debra Price
Joan Hudson	Valerie Muehsam	Patricia Williams
Joe Kirk		
Paul Loeffler		
Bill Lutterschmidt		

CHSS

Gary Smith

David Bailey Jim Carter Mary Gutermuth Marsha Harman Deborah Hatton Tom Kordinak Chris White **CJ** Steven Cuvelier Holly Miller

NGL Lady Jane Hickey

(Where we usually have only 25 members of the Senate, this year we have 26. Marsha Harmon's term expired this year but was extended for one year so she could serve as Chair of the Senate. Also, the new college structure required a

temporary adjustment to be made for those legitimately elected in the past to serve out their full Senate terms.)

Passing the Gavel:

Outgoing Chair Kandi Tayebi and new Faculty Senate Chair Marsha

Harman both praised the accomplishments of the previous Faculty Senate and expressed gratitude to each other for the hard work and the good relationship that existed between the two officers over the past year. Marsha Harman was then invested with the authority to represent the Faculty as Chair of the Faculty Senate.

Retention of Quality Students:

Vice President Eglsaer was recognized by Chair Harman to share concerns about retention of quality students. VP Eglaser reported that our incoming students are better qualified since our admissions standards have been raised. Dr. Eglaser requested attention from the Faculty Senate and from the faculty as a whole to the matter of retention and he shared ideas generated by Dr. Keri Rogers, Director of the First Year Experience (x41598-kroger@shsu.edu).

Show you care about students.

Get to know your students.

Give grades during the first three weeks of long semesters so students will know where they stand.

Use SAM Center's First Alert for students who miss class or earn poor grades. Refer to Academic Support Services, all listed at www.shsu.edu/fye

- SAM Center
- Math Center
- Reading Center
- Writing Center
- Tutoring Services

Serve as a mentor for the program created by the Dean of Student's Office Be involved with student activities-advisor for student organizationstudent/university events

- Career Services
- Counseling Center
- Health Center
- Rec Sports
- Student Activities

Encourage students to be well-rounded and to take advantage of academic and extracurricular opportunities

The Faculty Senate represents you. Please keep us informed about any ideas you may have for improving the ability of SHSU to provide a world class education to our students and to create an atmosphere within which a world class faculty can work, create, and contribute to our civil and academic communities.

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED,

JIM CARTER, CHAIR ELECT