FACULTY SENATE MINUTES SAM HOUSTON STATE UNIVERSITY September 7, 2006

Chair Debbie Price called the meeting to order at 3:45 p.m.

Members Present: Doug Constance; Peggy DeMers; Stacey Edmonson; Mark Frank; Mary Gutermuth; Debbi Hatton; Joan Hudson; Rosanne Keathley; Gerald Kohers; Paul Loeffler; Brian Loft; Philip Morris; Valerie Muehsam; Debra Price; Jay Whatley; Chris White; Patricia Williams.

Members Absent: David Bailey; Christopher Baldwin; Jerry Cook; Linda Cook; Steven Cuvelier; Jerry Dowling; Jim DeShaw.

Approval of Minutes:

The minutes of the May 4, 2006 meeting were approved.

Old Business:

Faculty Senate Chair Debbie Price indicated there were two brief items that needed to be decided by the sitting Senate members:

- Committee members for the research council were approved.
- It was decided that the Chair of the University Affairs Committee would serve as the Senate representative to the BearKat One Advisory Board

Awards:

- Dean Jamie Hebert, Arts and Sciences, was presented the Outstanding Senate Leader Award for Administrators for the 2005-2006 academic year
- Dr. Mary Robbins, Chair Language, Literacy and Special Populations, was presented the Outstanding Senate Leader Award for Chairs.
- President Gaernter presented outgoing Senators with a certificate of appreciation. Outgoing senators were: Christopher Baldwin and Jerry Cook (A&S); Steven Cuvelier (CJ); Valerie Muehsam and Mark Frank (COBA); Debra Price and Patricia Williams (COE): David Bailey, Christopher White, and Linda Cook (H&SS); Lady Jane Hickey (NGL).
- Debra Price recognized the contributions of Philip Morris, Chair Elect, and turned the meeting over to him.

New Business:

Incoming Senators were welcomed. Incoming Senators are: William Luttershcmidt and Renee James (A&S); Yan Zhang (CJ); John Newbold and Mark Frank (COBA): Debra Price and Bill Edgington (COE); Tracy Steele, Tracy Bilsing and Yasser Derwiche Djazaerly (H&SS); Ann Jerabek (NGL).

Debra Price (COE) was elected to the Chair Elect position for the 2006-2007 year.

The Graduate Faculty Policy was handed out and the Senate will discuss it at the next meeting on September 14.

The Faculty Senate adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Debbie Price, Chair-Elect.