

University Faculty Senate Minutes Sam Houston State University September 9, 2003

Members present: David Bailey, Christopher Baldwin, Ted Creighton (substituting for Stacey Edmonson), James Carter, Steven Cuvelier, Mary Lynn DeShazo, Mark Frank, Mary Gutermuth, Marsha Harman, Penny Hasekoester, Deborah Hatton, David Henderson, Lady Jane Hickey, Joe Kirk, Gerald Kohers, S. Thomas Kordinak, Paul Loeffler, Valerie Muehsam, Kandi Tayebi, Tamara Waggener, Christopher White, Patricia Williams

Member absent: Terry Bilhartz (professional conflict), Stacey Edmonson (illness), Holly Miller, Debra Price (illness)

Approval of Minutes

Emendations for the minutes of May 1 and June 16 were approved.

Recognition of Outgoing Senators

President Gaertner and Vice President Payne presented certificates of appreciation to the outgoing senators: Bill, Abbott, Leonard Breen, Joanne Ardovini-Brooker, Jeff Harwell, Joan Hudson (professional conflict), Ann Jerabek, Victoria Titterington, Gene Young. President Gaertner and Vice President Payne also presented a plaque of recognition to Valerie Muehsam for her service as Senate Chair during the past year.

Introduction of New Senators

The in-coming senators took their seats.

Committee Preferences

Senators provided written rankings of their desire for committee assignment.

Major Issues for Senate

Various issues were presented by Chair Tayebi, and the following merged as the most critical for immediate attention:

- Post-Tenure Review
- FES System
- Grievance Policy
- Graduate Faculty Status
- Summer Pay

Chair-Elect

Marsha Harman was elected chair-elect of the Senate for 2003-2004.

Respectfully submitted,

Marsha Harman, Chair-Elect